Clark – Self-Titled

Clark heads back into familiar territory on his new self-titled album.

Flying Lotus – “Ready Err Not” [NSFW]

First off, be sure to heed that NSFW label up there: this will almost certainly be the most disturbing music video you’ll see all year.

For You’re Dead! cut “Ready Err Not,” Flying Lotus enlisted the talents of Salad Fingers creator David Firth to lend the track a freakish and downright perverted set of visuals. Even if you’re familiar with Firth’s surreally horrific style, you may find the content of the video shocking, as he arguably takes things to a new, gruesome level. But it’s ultimately a match made in heaven, Firth’s vision matching the grisly promotional art of master body horror depicter Shintaro Kago. I’m of the opinion these sorts of images better suit the album than Hiro Murai’s comparatively tame approach to “Never Catch Me” earlier last month, but certainly both takes are mostly effective, albeit in very different ways. Watch Firth’s above and revel in the messed-upness!

You’re Dead! is out now via Warp and it’s a glorious free-jazz nightmare! Review below:

Flying Lotus – “Never Catch Me” ft. Kendrick Lamar

*THIS IS A POWER 106 WORLD PREMIERE* So You’re Dead!‘s much-hyped Kendrick Lamar feature has been unveiled and it’s just as *LA LEAKERS* stellar as you could have hoped. There was certainly no doubt in my mind that K.Dot would kill it over FlyLo’s alternately *AIR HORN* frenetic and smooth, jazzy production. Now I’m actually kind of glad Kendrick took all his beats, even if *LA LEAKERS* it has resulted in the next Captain Murphy album getting put on hold. I’d really be down for *AIR HORN* a whole album of this. Listen above and *THIS IS A POWER 106 WORLD PREMIERE* enjoy!

You’re Dead! drops October 7 via Warp. Our review of Flying Lotus’ previous effort Until the Quiet Comes:

Rustie – Green Language

From shrill synths to lackluster vocal guests, the new Rustie album does little to live up to its predecessor.

Hudson Mohawke – “Chimes”

UK-based electronic music producer Hudson Mohawke has recently announced that he’s got a new EP on the way via Warp Records. He’s dropped a new track along with the announcement, and it’s the title track of that forthcoming EP, Chimes. It’s dropping officially on September 29th.

Needless to day, considering I’ve enjoyed Hudson’s previous projects so much, I’m excited for what’s coming up on Chimes. The title track itself takes an incredibly loud, rowdy approach to the trap banger. While there are some ethereal, glossy synth passages on this track, much of it’s runtime is taken over by loud, distorted sub-bass and slightly offbeat synth horns.

It’s unquestionably colorful, and even though it might share a little too much common ground with what Hudson’s already done in TNGHT, I’m still loving what’s going on here.


Nine Inch Nails – “Find My Way” (Oneohtrix Point Never Remix)

Oneohtrix Point Never has made his remix of Nine Inch Nails’ “Find My Way” available to stream on his Soundcloud page. His take on the track is incredibly spacious and multi-phased, abruptly alternating between droning organ textures and skittering synth sequences. Judging also from past singles, “Problem Areas” and “Zebra,”  this decidedly formless esthetic seems to be the one OPN is embracing for his upcoming Warp Records debut, R Plus Seven, due out September 30.

OPN’s remix can be found on the deluxe edition of Hesitation Marks, out now via Columbia. Check out the review below:

Mark Pritchard – “1234″ ft. Ragga Twins

UK electronic music producer Mark Pritchard has a new track out simply titled “1234.” The beat has a nice choppiness to it, but guest act Ragga Twins lends the instrumental a pretty smooth, groovy jungle esthetic, as well. Enjoy!

“1234″ will be featured on Pritchard’s upcoming EP Lock Off, which is scheduled for release on September 2 via Warp.

Oneohtrix Point Never – “Still Life” (Excerpt)

The tracks of experimental music producer Daniel Lopatin, a.k.a. Oneohtrix Point Never-, are difficult enough to make heads or tails of on their own–much less in the form of a three-minute excerpt accompanied by incredibly abstract visuals.

Right now, Lopatin’s next album, R Plus Seven, is looking at an Oct. 1st release date on Warp Records, and the track “Still Life” is projecting this thing to be even more difficult than it’s sample-heavy predecessor. Check a review for that album below, and enjoy the excerpt!

Bibio – Silver Wilkinson

Bibio’s latest full-length might be one of his most consistent yet, filtering this UK producer’s versatile talents through a dreamy, sedate lens.


Mount Kimbie – “You Took Your Time” ft. King Krule (LOVED)

UK electronic music duo Mount Kimbie has been building up to the release of their next full-length album, Cold Spring Fault Less Youth, with a series of different tracks, and the one streaming above–in my opinion, duh–is easily the most captivating thus far. The duo pulls together a pretty minimal beat, placing some sad, miniature synths against a an even smaller beat. What brings the track an incredible presence is some vocal work from King Krule, whose performance blends the borders separating rapping, spoken word, and singing in a pretty emotional way. Enjoy, and check a review for King Krule’s self-titled EP below: