R.A. The Rugged Man – Legends Never Die

R.A. The Rugged Man returns with his first album in almost ten years. While he may be rapping faster than ever–and is incredibly vile at points–some of the production on this LP sounds incredibly dated and obvious.


The National – “Demons”

The National takes on an odd time signature, but plays it off smooth on this dramatic new single, “Demons,” which is set for release via 4AD on May 20th. Enjoy!

Flying Lotus- “Putty Boy Strut”

Fling Lotus drops some new visuals for a track off his forthcoming album, Until the Quiet Comes. Grab it via Warp Records on the first of October.

Steam Elder’s New EP

The Massachusetts-based metal band Elder has a new EP out featuring two crushing new tracks called “Spires Burn” and “Release.” They clock in at 10 and 12 minutes respectively, so don’t think you’re getting shortchanged with this EP. Both songs feature a pretty retro take on stoner metal, with some clear Black Sabbath influences in the vocals and a slow, heavy instrumental backing. The doom-influenced guitar and bass riffs, often the most important aspect of this style of music, are definitely there on both of these tracks, chugging away with propulsive fervor.

Stream both of the tracks above via Youtube, and purchase the new EP on vinyl from Armageddon Shop.

Matmos- “Very Large Green Triangles” (Edit)

The experimental, electronic, and sample-obsessed music duo known as Matmos has a new EP on the way via Thrill Jockey in October. A track has finally dropped from it, and it’s a strange, intricate doozy.

This forthcoming EP is titled the Ganzfeld EP, and it teases toward a new full-length album that’s set to be released in early 2013: The Marriage of True Minds.

“Very Large Green Triangles”–or at least this edit of it, anyway–is a pretty impressive piece of arranged instrumentation and quirky grooves. Monolithic chorus vocals and string sections soar above pulsating loops of rhythms and vocal samples. There are some great piano parts that rise amidst the chaos, too.

It’s all a bit surreal, and it’s got me looking forward to what inventive ideas Matmos pulls out next on their latest material. Both releases have a kind of interesting concept going for them, which isn’t surprising considering the basis of the duo’s last album, Supreme Balloon. This is what has been stated in the press release attached to the release of this new track:

“As previously described, the EP and album have the same conceptual basis: telepathy. For the past four years the band have been conducting parapsychological experiments based upon the classic Ganzfeld (“total field”) experiment, but with a twist: instead of sending and receiving simple graphic patterns, test subjects were put into a state of sensory deprivation by covering their eyes and listening to white noise on headphones, and then Matmos member Drew Daniel attempted to transmit “the concept of the new Matmos record” directly into their minds. During videotaped psychic experiments conducted at home in Baltimore and at Oxford University, test subjects were asked to describe out loud anything they saw or heard within their minds as Drew attempted transmission. The resulting transcripts became a kind of score that was then used by Matmos to generate music. If a subject hummed something, that became a melody; passing visual images suggested arrangement ideas, instruments, or raw materials for a collage; if a subject described an action, then the band members had to act that out and make music out of the noises generated in the process of the re-enactment.”

Death Grips- “Lost Boys”

A new Death Grips track, “Lost Boys.” It’s gonna be on the experimental hip hop outfit’s forthcoming album, the Money Store, which is looking at an April 24th release on Epic. Head over to Prefix to check out the albums very NSFW artwork, and look below for the LP’s tracks:

Track list:
1. Get Got
2. The Fever (Aye Aye)
3. Lost Boys
4. Blackjack
5. Hustle Bones
6. I’ve Seen Footage
7. Double Helix
8. System Blower
9. The Cage
10. Punk Weight
11. Fuck That
12. Bitch Please
13. Hacker

Steve Moore- “Enhanced Humanoid”

A track from a new split consisting of Steve Moore and Majure. Of course, both of these musicians make up the progressive synth rock duo Zombi. It just so happens that they are working separately for this split album.

From the first track to drop from this thing, “Enchanced Humanoid,” you can probably expect the usual Tangerine Dream-influenced synth progressions throughout the split. For hardcore fans, I’m sure that’ll be a good thing. Enjoy “Enchanced Humanoid” via the SoundCloud stream above, and expect this split to drop on Temporary Residence Ltd. in 2012.

The Black Keys- “Lonely Boy”

A new video from the Black Keys in promotion for the duo’s new single, “Lonely Boy.” The track comes from the forthcoming album El Camino, which is set to drop December 6th via Nonesuch. These guys are pairing up with Danger Mouse again production-wise, and it’s turning out some good results so far, obviously.

And, uh, this video. Yeah, it’s awesome.

Part Time- “I Wanna Take You Out”


Coming out July 5th on Mexican Summer, Part Time’s debut album, What Would You Say?. Fronted by singer-songwriter David Speck, this release should lovingly seduce the ear drums of anybody who is into the nostalgic hip swaying of Ariel Pink or John Maus.

Dig on a video for the track “Living In Pretend (My Girl Imagination)” right here, too.

Anamanaguchi- “Airbrushed”

“Airbrushed” will be the first of Anamanaguchi’s 2010 summer singles to get a physical release this March. This ultra-melodic rock anthem is an awesome overload that has to power to make both eyes and smiles to wide.

There’s no doubt that these guys are smashing any preconceived notions about the legitimacy of 8-bit music.