Sleater-Kinney – No Cities to Love

Sleater-Kinney is back with a new record after ten years of studio album silence.

Viet Cong – Self-Titled

Viet Cong picks up the pieces left in the demise of Women, and pulls together some great–but very similar–material on their self-titled release here.

Joy Division – Unknown Pleasures

In this first installment of classics week 2014, Anthony Fantano reviews a shirt.

Liars – “Mask Maker” (Extended Version) (Video)

Released earlier this year, Liars’ diverse but focused project, Mess, received average to good reviews, mostly because even though it was interesting, progressive and at the same time still quite retro, they did little to stray from their usual early 2000s dance punk sound. The intro track “Mask Maker” led the pack with a viscous New Order-esque bass beat, peculiar lyrics and a synth horn section that could have come from a punk Atom Heart Mother; and was noticed as one of the best–if not the best–tracks on the record.

Consequently, the release of the new music video for “Mask Maker” was pretty exciting, as Liars would have the chance to put their aesthetic talent to use once again to match the boldness and power of the track. Characteristically the video features a minimalistic approach, each band member wearing white suits and being drenched in multicolored wool threads, with jumps from image to image in time with the beat. Although I would have enjoyed a reference to whatever the lyrics actually meant, I actually preferred the abstract approach.

If you haven’t heard the track, the video is an interesting accompaniment, and a must see for Liars aesthetic lovers.

- Fin Worrall

The Wytches – Annabel Dream Reader

Fusing surf rock, horror punk, and lo-fi garage, the new Wytches album is an electrifying experience.

Iceage – “Against The Moon” (NSFW Video)

One of Denmark’s greatest noise rock bands goes baroque punk on the track “Against The Moon,” which you can catch on their latest full-length album Plowing Into the Field of Love, which is out now via Matador.

The band saw fit to tag some Martin Masai Andersen & Kim Thue-directed visuals to the track, and they’re an esoteric exploration into sexuality, age, and regret. Or, well, at least that’s how I interpret it anyway.

A Place To Bury Strangers – “Straight”

New York’s A Place To Bury Strangers has announced a new album for 2015, and they just dropped the first single, and it’s titled “Straight.” This is one of the most ferocious noise rock bands on the East Coast, and they live up to that reputation with rumbling distortion, squawking guitar feedback, and a driving bassline.

While the band’s last record seemed a little distant and underwhelming, this new single sound up close and personal, which is just the way I like it.

Look for the new A Place To Bury Strangers album, Transfixation, via Dead Oceans on February 17th.

Ariel Pink – pom pom

Pop’s biggest oddball comes through with his strongest set of songs since the 00s.

Parkay Quarts – “Content Nausea”

Seeing Parkay Quarts, a.k.a. Parquet Courts, live at the intimate and classic venue DC9 will forever inform the way vocalist Andrew Savage’s singing reaches me. I’m not 100% certain, but I’m fairly sure that he alternated staring down members of the crowd while pummeling them with his trademark rapid fire stream of consciousness lyrics. On most of their records, it can become all too easy to overlook how fast the man sings, but watching him perform these songs in person while staring straight through me and other audiences members truly emphasized this talent. Well, “Content Nausea” captures that experience and even amplifies it. The song begins with a sauntering drum roll and polite yet punky guitar, before Savage’s word urgent but nonsensical monologue spills out and overtakes the song. Like it’s taken by a sudden bout of nausea, the instrumentation disintegrates from its previous structure to wailing noise. “Please stop!” it almost pleads, but thankfully Savage doesn’t. He wouldn’t be so savage if he did.

This track comes from Parquet Courts’ latest album via What’s Your Rupture?, which can be picked up here.

- Garrett Cottingham

Liars – “I’m No Gold” / “Poison Bender”

Liars released their single “I’m No Gold” on November 4th, a song that was originally featured on their innovative LP from March titled Mess. The single will be accompanied by 2 b-sides and 3 remixes as well. Mess’s dark, electronic, and extremely heavy dance jams turned more than a few heads after their relatively tame foray into the world of electronica on 2012′s WIXIW. “I’m No Gold” embodies the harsh post-punk aesthetic of this album, alternating between bouncy glitch hop and driving house beats combined with very dark synths. The song is terrifying, but stays immensely fun throughout. Sure, there are hundreds of post-punk electronic albums out there, but you can’t convince me the world isn’t a better place without Liar’s take on the genre. Check out the haunting video that accompanies the single above, and find a b-side from this forthcomign single below:

- Garrett Cottingham