Open Mike Eagle – A Special Episode Of EP

Hellfyre Club’s Open Mike Eagle follows his excellent 2014 LP up with a solid EP.

James Blake – 200 Press

Fans of the London-based producer will have new material to tide them over until the rumored release of his next full-length, expected to drop sometime in 2015. The 200 Press EP consists of four tracks that might seem strange on their own, but come across as united in their oddity.

In a change of pace from the songs on his two previous LPs, the focus is taken away from his delicate, R&B-influenced vocals; in fact, they are strikingly absent. Blake’s voice only makes appearances in the form of a few wispy, intermittent production flourishes and the warped out spoken word track closing out the EP. The instrumentals across these songs are varied, departing from the more direct, saccharine melodies of Blake’s recent work in favor of cryptic, sometimes harsh progressions. Underneath are some subtle 2-step and techno beats, complete with hushed and sculpted sub-bass, tight hi-hat, and all sorts of other blips and pops. Of the bunch, I think “Building It Still” is probably my favorite, but they’re all definitely worth a listen.

-Tom Fullmer

ho99o9 – Mutant Freax EP & “Bone Collector”

It is now that I ask you to open your hearts to a group of hardened, mutant horrorcore freaks that go by the name ho99o9. They’ve got a new three-track EP out that indulges in everything from hardcore punk to nightmarish, lean-soaked cloud rap.

While ho99o9 are certainly onto something, a cacophony of contemporaries come to mind when listening to them: Odd Future, Flatbush Zombies, Death Grips, B L A C K I E. But there’s always more room on the darker side of rap.

Stream the Mutant Freax EP above, and check out a music video for “Bone Collector” below:

The Bug – “Mi Lost” ft. Miss Red

If there’s a way to hold attention, it’s to hint at a payoff that never arrives. The Bug’s trap-dub influenced beat swells quite a few times throughout the, but the song dissolves into a formless chorus before any kind of release is ever achieved. Miss Red’s vocals are a prime example of the childish delivery that has become omnipresent in British electronic music. They are passable at best and verge on grating at points. Nevertheless, The Bug’s masterful manipulation of tension alone makes the song worth a listen.

Check out a review of the latest Bug album right here.

- Garrett Cottingham

Joseph Marinetti – “Lipsync”

No, you won’t hear any of the music off Joseph Marinetti’s new PDA EP on any under armor commercials–unless they start to sell pink leggings and lip gloss. That doesn’t mean the EP doesn’t pay direct homage to mainstream house music and TNGHT’s now-legendary self-titled EP.

Check out a cut from the EP above. Bonus points to anyone who doesn’t go out and buy a burger afterwards.

- Garrett Cottingham

Lubomyr Melnyk – “Evertina” / “Butterfly”

Last year, Ukrainian piano god Lubomyr Melnyk released the transcendent Windmills, which apart from the almost concurrently released Corollaries, was essentially his latest major work in 15 years. Indeed, while Melnyk’s discipline is probably unparalleled by anyone else in modern music, he can hardly be considered prolific anymore. However, that thankfully might be changing, as Erased Tapes Records has just announced he has an EP/mini-album-thing called Evertina on the way.

The release will apparently show off Melnyk’s gentler, more melodic side – sorry, anyone jonesing for some more kung fu piano action. Above, you can lay your ears on the lovely title track and below you can watch a trailer for the mini-album. In it, Melnyk talks about discipline and metaphysics (whooo!) and proceeds to perform a double-piano version of new solo-piano composition “Butterfly.” I like the way this guy thinks and plays!

Evertina is due out December 15 via Erased Tapes.

Lubomyr Melnyk – Evertina Tour 2014 (Live Trailer) from Erased Tapes on Vimeo.

Lee Bannon – Main/Flex EP

After the success of his Alternate/Endings full-length earlier this year, I think it’s safe to say music fans and critics alike have accepted Lee Bannon‘s sudden transition into the world of drum ‘n’ bass.

The West Coast producer is now backing that move up with a new EP titled Main/Flex, which features a surprising and varied guest list: Hak of Ratking, Deejay Earl, and Anthrax drummer Charlie Benante. Not only that, but Lee’s typically atmospheric production feels even more vast at some points–I mean, the track “RMF-2″ is pretty much an ambient cut.

Give a listen to this EP via the embed above, and pick it up on iTunes here.

The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die – Between Bodies EP

The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die take their dynamic approach to emo and fuses it with spoken word on this new collaborative EP.

Guerilla Toss – Smack the Brick EP

Everybody’s favorite funked-out, rock-out-with-your-pud-out, no-wave five-piece Guerilla Toss is back and funkier than ever with this new four track EP, Smack the Brick. The project finds the Allston act continuing to tighten their compositions, evoking something like a primeval Talking Heads with their now rather danceable grooves. It’s a far cry from the improvised punk stylings of, say, the band’s self-titled Tzadik debut, but I think they’re doing a nice balancing act of loose and tight at the moment, so I can’t really complain. Besides, they apparently have a split thing with B L A C K I E coming up, which may well see the return of their more free-improvised side. Until then, check out Smack the Brick above and enjoy!

Panda Bear – Mr. Noah

Animal Collective’s Panda Bear give us a taste of his forthcoming album.