Matana Roberts – Coin Coin Chapter 3: River Run Thee

The latest installment of Matana Roberts’ Coin Coin series shifts the narrative down a drone-laden, cluttered pathway.

John Carpenter – Lost Themes

Director, screenwriter, and infamous soundtrack composer John Carpenter surprises fans with an album of non-soundtrack material.

Zs – Xe

Zs’ latest album shows the band taking a more stripped back approach to their hypnotically repetitive approach to experimental rock, jazz, and drone.

Xibalba – Tierra y Libertad

LA hardcore act Xibalba is back with one of the heaviest, most savage albums you’ll hear this year–though slightly one-dimensional.

Mount Eerie – Sauna

With Sauna, Mount Eerie figurehead Phil Elverum continues in the drone-y, ambient direction he was headed in on 2012′s Clear Moon.

Title Fight – Hyperview

After a couple reputable albums of the post-hardcore persuasion, Title Fight decides to shoot for a dreamier, hazier, more apathetic sound.

Björk – Vulnicura

Icelandic singer, songwriter, producer Björk is back with another record, and it’s one filled with romantic heartbreak and whimsical instrumentation.

Lupe Fiasco – Tetsuo & Youth

With what might be his final project with Atlantic Records, Lupe Fiasco releases his most conceptual and headiest album in years, backing these tracks up with an instrumental set that’s a step above what he delivered on his two previous LPs.

Napalm Death – Apex Predator — Easy Meat

Grindcore godfathers Napalm Death prove their lasting power in yet another decade.

Belle and Sebastian – Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance

Glasgow indie pop veterans Belle and Sebastian release their danciest, punchiest album yet.